I’ve mentioned it before, I’m a puppy momma so…. I spoil my baby. Ever since he was little I’ve made him homemade dog treats. Not only because it’s healthier for him but also because he was so tiny when I got him (2.5 lbs) store bought treats were too hard. Also our older dog Henry has had some teeth removed so he has a hard time with hard dog treats. These are soft, easy to make, and you can eat them too! I nibble on the dough while I make these every time.

image

I made a video of how I make these treats for my baby, with tips, ingredients and instructions but I will also list them below.

 

 

 

2c whole wheat flour

1tbs baking powder

1c milk

1c peanut butter

In a small bowl I mix milk and pb. My trick is I microwave them together for 30seconds to make the pb softer and then whisk together.

In a larger bowl add flour and baking powder.

Once the milk and pb are smooth, add to the dry ingredients.

Form a dough. If it’s too wet add some more flour, if it’s too dry add some more milk.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead into a ball. The more you handle this dough and knead it, the tougher it gets, so less is better.

Roll out the dough into desired thickness,and use a cookie cutter in whatever size or shape you want.

Place cookies on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes. Bigger cookies take longer, flip one over and it should be golden. There are no eggs or anything raw that needs to be cooked so time isn’t a big issue.

Let cool completely and place in a cool, dry storage container.