So, when I worked in oak park the other day we ordered Vietnamese vegetarian spring rolls with peanut sauce. I had never had a spring roll before but I figured why not try it, sounds good. It was so good I was craving it the whole next week so I decided to do my research, take from each recipe what I liked and whip up these yummy treats. 

What you need: 

  • Spring rolls- I found them at meijer surprisingly. They come as a kind of hard, thick “paper” 
  • Seedless cucumber 
  • Carrots
  • Bean sprouts
  • Radish 
  • Lettuce
  • Red pepper
  • Bean strings- aka those weird “noodles” that are white and hard and turn clear and rubbery when you cook them. 
  • Cilantro
  • Mint
  • Peanut butter
  • Rice vinegar
  • Chili and garlic sauce- the peanut sauce called for garlic and hot chili oil, I saw a small jar of chili garlic sauce by the stir fry section and it worked perfect
  • Soy sauce
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Water 

First I softened the bean strings because it said it would take 20 minutes. It didn’t take that long though. Read the package directions or you could always fry them for a crunch in your spring roll.

Slice all your veggies thinly. The spring roll wrappers are delicate so you don’t want a huge thick veg ripping through it. The bean sprouts are fine as is. 

The spring rolls I bought didn’t come with directions or if they did I couldn’t read them, but being addicted to the food channel I knew how to use them. You want warmish water in a pie pan or bowl that the spring roll will fit in. Basically you submerge the spring roll wrapper and rub it gently until it starts to soften. Don’t go too long or it will just die in your water. Have it just on the edge of al dente I guess. 

*alternative to the spring roll wrappers : egg roll wrappers (won ton wrapper) and fry them for a crispy roll. These wrappers need to be cooked. *

Lay your softened spring roll on a clean surface and later up your veggies. I did cucumber on the bottom followed by carrots, red pepper, lettuce, bean sprouts, bean strings, radish, a little cilantro and mint and then rolled it up like a burrito. Try to roll it tightly, the spring roll wrapper will be sticky. And ta da! A spring roll ! 

The spicy peanut sauce: I did about a 1/2 cup of smooth peanut butter, about 1/2 a cup of soy sauce , about 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar, a pinch of sugar and maybe 1/2 a tablespoon of the chili garlic sauce. I mixed it all together and then added water until I got a consistency I liked. If you like it thicker then don’t add water if you like it thinner add more. If you want it spicier add more chili sauce or red pepper flakes. To serve the sauce I topped it with a thin layer of the chili garlic sauce. 

Super easy, super yummy, super healthy ? 

Enjoy!